They tell us to stay with the catcher’s inside back pocket and this is a great example
Here’s a video I just came across from the NJSAB July 4th clinic (that I was NOT able to attend). It talks about a change in the approach to taking the steal at 2nd from B. I always find that I am screened on a close steal, and I tried this technique my last couple of games. I definitly got better looks, but I found myself moving when I was making the call. I will practice and that will make prefect
So my spring/summer 2014 ended (probably) on a high note – a 12 minute, 1 inning continuation game. As those of use who umpire know, it all evens out in the end. For every 1 hour 20 minute 1-0 gem, there is an 18-9 2:35 stinker. For every time we call a game for torrential rain after an inning, there is a game where we sit around and wait out thunder. This one was great – a 1-2-3 top of 7 followed by a reached-on-error, steal of 2nd, steal of 3rd, score on a ground ball. Long walk across the lot, a few minutes of chatting with my partner, and in the car 16 minutes after first pitch. Hopefully, I’ve already had the extra inning marathon that this one matches up with!
This is from last night’s Brewers-Nationals game. Original call was R1 safe and BR out. Changed to R1 out and BR safe. This article on cbssports.com covers it pretty well and it really goes to show how many different variations of the same play can happen. I think I think, at least with the benefit of seeing it a few times, that there is no interference on the play. and safe/out should have stood. I haven’t visited ump-emp yet today, but I’m sure there will be a dozen opinions and no definitive conclusion.
Oakland was playing Toronto the other day. The Blue Jays had the bases loaded with one out and hit a ground ball to the 1st baseman (F3), who attempted to tag the runner (R1) going from 1st to 2nd. Umpire Vic Carapazza ruled there was no tag. F3 then threw home and the catcher received the throw on the bag for the easy force out.
What do you think happened next? Toronto manager John Gibbons came out to protest that his R1 was tagged and, therefore, the play at home was a tag play and not a force out and that the run should count. And after a 4+ minute review, they overturned the call, and counted the run.
So the catcher acted on the information that he had (a big safe sign from Carapazza) and made no attempt to tag the runner (who would have been out by 10 feet). Obviously, that’s a hole in the replay rule that has to be fixed. The A’s played the game under protest, but won the game so it was moot.
Here’s the play. You really do see something new every darn day out there.
He did get up and finish the game. The lesson is obvious.