Rooting for the Royals!

The last time I paid any attention to the Kansas City Royals, Chris Chambliss was barreling his way around the bases, Freddie Patek (or was it Cookie Rojas?) was crying in the dugout, George Brett was seething about something, and the Yankees were winning the series. About the time the Royals finally won one, my obsession with baseball was turning into merely fanaticism.  Over the next looong bunch of years, I became a casual fan at best.  Giving my Met-fan friends a hard time and listening to Mike and The Dog kept me connected, but I probably didn’t watch a complete baseball game for a full 20 year stretch.  Since I started umpiring a few years back,  I’ve re-discovered my enjoyment of the game. I love having the best seat in the house for over 100 games a year, but still don’t stay with a pro game for more than a batter or two. I honestly couldn’t tell you who won last year’s World Series.  But now, after all of these years – here come the Kansas City Royals!

In the 2013 draft, Livingston’s own Frank Schwindel was drafted out of St. John’s by the Royals. He’s played the last two years in Idaho Falls, Lexington, KY and Wilmington, DE, moving up to AA at the end of this season. I know Frank’s family, and it’s been exciting to follow his progress. But, most of all – it gives me a horse in the race!

Let’s go Royals! When’s the 1st game?

Leave a Reply

