What the hell???

Major League umpire Laz Diaz changed his call from a strike to a ball in last night’s Rangers v Nationals game.  Here’s the story from mlb.com – but, in a nutshell, he called a pitch, heard a bit of grief and then emphatically gave the count reflecting the change.  I have to read more…

EDITED – I watched the video, It seems as if the umpire started to call the strike too early, and then the bottom dropped out.  Like an out/safe.   It all goes back to timing. A D1 guy at a clinic I went to last year said that the difference between high level college guys and MLB guys is timing, plain and simple.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: