Batting Out Of Order

I consider myself  pretty knowledgable when it comes to baseball and softball rules. And I consider many of my umpire peers knowledgable in the rules – we certainly spend enough discussing situations and looking up rule cites.  So you would think that with myself and a few other umps together at a tournament this weekend, we could come up with the answer to a basic BOO question   – batter 2 bats out of order in batter 1’s spot and makes an out. What is the result after a proper appeal?

If batter 2 gets on base, the answer is easy. I was unsure on the amount of outs recorded and the proper batter. This was an ASA softball situation, but, obviously, I’d like to be sure in all rules sets that I work.

The Umppire-Empire board was pretty clear in one direction, but I havent convinced myself with an actual rule cite yet. And ASA may be different alltogether – don’t know yet. Hopefully I’ll have time to nail it down today.

The point is this – BOO one of those basic rules that I take for granted and skim over when reviewing the rules, and that’s a sure way to get in trouble out there

Advertisements

2 responses

  1. From my understanding of ASA rules: the batter who should have batted is out. Any runs or advances of bases are nullified and those runners returned back to their original locations. In this case because #2 batter was the wrong batter who made out her turn would be skipped and batter #3 would be up. This is all assuming that, as u said, the appeal was made after batter 2 made out. So really in your situation there is very little effect.

  2. The question is, Mark, does the out on the improper batter stand? I believe that ASA softball is the only rule set that gives you two outs…I found this on a softball forum somewhere:

    SITUATION:
    No outs. R1 on 2B. B3 erroneously bats in B2’s batting position and hits a fly ball that is caught by F8. R1 legally tags up at 2B, but is thrown out at 3B on a perfect throw by F8 for the second out. The defensive team calls time and appeals B3 batting out of order.

    What do you rule in: ASA, NFHS, and NCAA?

    In ASA, it’s a triple play. The outs on R1 and B3 stand and B2 is called out for failing to bat in turn. Because B3 made an out on the batting-out-of-order play, B3 does not come to bat but is skipped over in the batting order and the proper batter in the next inning will be B4.

    In NFHS, the out made on the bases at third base by R1 stands. The out on B2, the proper batter called out for failing to bat in proper turn stands but supersedes the out made by improper batter B3. Therefore, play resumes with two outs and the proper batter is B3. NFHS Case Book play 7.1.1-c supports that ruling.

    In NCAA, B2, the proper batter is declared out for failing to bat in order. The outs on R1 and B3 are nullified and R1 is returned to 2B. Play continues with one out, R1 at 2B and B3 at bat. In NCAA, a prudent defensive team would not appeal batting out of order. That way, the outs made by R1 and B3 during ordinary play would stand. Without a batting-out-of-turn appeal, the first pitch to the next batter would legalize B3s’ turn at bat. The proper batter would be B4, who hopefully would be batting.

    And the guys over at Ump-Emp are universal in that any baseball only gives you the one out

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: