Umpire-Empire

I don’t know if I have ever blogged directly about umpire-empire.com. I have the site included in my blog role, but I don’t think I’ve posted about and recommended the great fountain of knowledge that is Umpire Empire.  One of the most basic fundamentals of umpiring is this: don’t think that you know ANY rule until you have read it yourself in the appropriate, current rule book. And one of MY basic fundamentals is this: there’s a whole lot to know out there, from a rules, mechanics and just overall umpiring standpoint, and I have a lot to learn. Umpire-Empire is a community of umpires who share their knowledge and experience in non-judgemental and construtive manner. Umpires post questions about actual or theoretical plays and situations, and the discussion that ensues is always focused and factual, and rules are cited. I am always humbled by the knowledge that many of these guys have and am grateful for the resource. There are a few other good umpire sites out there. Midwest Ump, for example, does a nice job. But for help with the craft, umpire-empire is my go-to site.

2 responses

  1. Paul,

    Thanks for the comments. Your post speaks exactly why I created Umpire-Empire, I wanted a new forum where some of the barriers to learning and sharing information, knowledge and experience that existed elsewhere were not the norm. Where umpires of every experience level can share their thoughts and ask questions without fear of being belittled. The key to all of this is having the best members of any site regardless of niche. Thanks for being a member Paul.

    Warren

  2. Thank you for the site Warren. I hope you are finally making a few bucks on it!

Leave a Reply

