Essential: Dropped 3rd strike rule

Dropped 3rd strike rule

In both baseball and softball, at the older ages (generally once they allow unlimited stealing), the dropped 3rd strike rule is in effect. Here it is: if 1st base is unoccupied with less than 2 outs, or anytime with 2 outs, a 3rd strike that hits the ground before being secured by the catcher, is a live ball and the runner may attempt to advance to 1st base (and must be put out in the normal force play fashion).

From Wikipedia:

One intent of this rule is to ensure that a defensive player fields the ball cleanly in order for that team to record an out. It was thought that it was not enough that the offensive player be unsuccessful at the plate in order for an out to be made; a defensive player must be successful as well.

Rule-sets vary as to when the batter (now the batter-runner) retains the right to attept 1st base. In major league baseball, for example, the batter is out once he leaves the circl around home plate. In high-school baseball, he can attempt up until the time he enters his dugout or team area.

Finally – the term “dropped 3rd strike rule” is technically incorrect. The ball must be uncaught, not necessarily dropped.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: