First Post – I love to umpire!

 One of my go to lines when discussing umpring with people that I meet at games is “If I told my wife that I was going to watch 100 kids games a year, she’d think I was crazy…but i’f I’m getting paid it makes it OK”…

And that says it. I ump because I love it. We all ump because we love it. When all is said and done, we make an “OK” part time rate.  Surely, most of us would not be umping a busy schedule for free – pay is a factor. But we ump because we love it. We love to be in charge of the game…and have the kids look up to us…and have people ask us rules questions. We love to be a part of the game. We love to read the rules books and check on things that MIGHT have come up in our game…and call our ump buddies and go over scenarios…and we love to talk about it.

I love to talk about it anyway. And thats what I’ll do here. Talk about my most recent game..or a rule or situation….or something,

One response

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

